Author Topic: connect drone motors to each channel of the oscilloscope  (Read 1597 times)

Offline Adrian_Arg.Topic starter

• Frequent Contributor
connect drone motors to each channel of the oscilloscope
« on: February 25, 2018, 02:43:36 am »
forgive my English, for example if I have a 4-channel oscilloscope and a drone, I can place a probe to each motor and see it on the oscilloscope, or because of the dread of the mass in common can not be done, I wonder why the rigol ds1054z it has masses and earth, all connected together. and I would like to see each engine in each channel.

Offline TK

• Super Contributor
  • I am a Systems Analyst who plays with Electronics
Re: connect drone motors to each channel of the oscilloscope
« Reply #1 on: February 25, 2018, 02:47:05 am »
You need one differential probe connected to each channel of the DS1054Z to be able to do floating measurements.

From Tektronix: A floating measurement reads the voltage between two points, neither of which is at ground potential

Micsig manufactures the DP10013 differential probe that sells for around $170 each in the US. https://www.eevblog.com/forum/testgear/new-low-cost-($170)-100mhz-differential-scope-probe-from-micsig/msg1254420/#msg1254420
« Last Edit: February 25, 2018, 02:53:04 am by TK »

Offline ivaylo

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #2 on: February 25, 2018, 07:43:18 am »
Depends on the drone. Mine uses three phase motors in a delta configuration. So a four channel scope is only good to observe one motor (unless you pick a random phase for each motor and watch all four). What are you trying to see, just RPM? If I connect the ground of my scope to the negative battery terminal of the drone and three of the channels to the three phases I get the attached picture. Again, three phases in delta configuration, so these are not the voltages which the motor sees, but what they are relative to ground. Watch your fingers...
« Last Edit: February 25, 2018, 07:51:32 am by ivaylo »

Offline paulca