Author Topic: Considering a soldering station (Hakko FX888/888D?)  (Read 29957 times)

Offline analogixTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
Considering a soldering station (Hakko FX888/888D?)
« on: August 11, 2015, 08:26:29 am »
After many years using a (nice but sometimes a bit weak) 25W (or was it 30W?) Goot soldering iron with a simple sponge holder I'm considering getting a replacement with a proper stand. I'm just a hobbyist making kits and DIY projects, but I want something that'll last and make the hobby more enjoyable.

I'm thinking that something with an adjustable temperature will be useful for more versatility from soldering ICs and such, and in other instances cables, connectors etc. I've never used a soldering station before but understand that it has its advantages over my other upgrade option: a temperature adjustable soldering iron -this being a lower cost alternative. But from what I understand it doesn't control the temperature very well and isn't static-electricity shielded as a soldering station is, meaning the soldering iron can "shock" and damage sensitive parts.

Price/quality wise it seems the Hakko FX888D is my best bet. I'm a little skeptical towards the "digital" membrane button controls though as my experience is they eventually break and you end up with yet another "throw away and buy a new one" device whereas with an older style "analog" knob controller you can at least replace a worn potmeter and you get a more immediate response instead of having to "dial in" the temperature every time you need to solder something. I believe the previous model from Hakko was the FX888 (without the "D" suffix) but is no longer available as far as I know (at least not new). Opinions or experiences on this?

Offline wraper

• Supporter
Re: Considering a soldering station (Hakko FX888/888D?)
« Reply #1 on: August 11, 2015, 08:34:38 am »