Author Topic: create a 10 sec delay in a circuit  (Read 7240 times)

Offline cyxstudioTopic starter

create a 10 sec delay in a circuit
« on: May 01, 2012, 05:12:27 pm »
hi i am very new to electronics...i wish to create a circuit that has a 10 sec delay the moment the circuit is close before the load starts working. i was told that a simple resistor - capacitor circuit will do the job i tried but it doesnt work. i did some googled and some says it involves IC 555 and transistors. Can someone help me with this? thanks.

Offline IanB

• Super Contributor
Re: create a 10 sec delay in a circuit
« Reply #1 on: May 01, 2012, 05:27:53 pm »
This is simple to do, but...what are the power requirements of your load? What voltage and current? Any circuit like this always has two parts: one part is producing the 10 second delay, the other part is switching the load.

Offline MikeK

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: May 01, 2012, 05:56:23 pm »
Also, you said that your RC circuit didn't work.  You'd probably learn a great deal by posting a schematic of it so that we can tell you how it does or doesn't work.

Offline olsenn

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #3 on: May 01, 2012, 06:05:13 pm »
This is simple to do, but...what are the power requirements of your load? What voltage and current? Any circuit like this always has two parts: one part is producing the 10 second delay, the other part is switching the load.

Actually you may get away without the transistor... the 555 timer is capable of sourcing a surprising amount of current. Take a look at the below wikipedia article on the 555 timer. In monostable mode you can get a 10s pulse and in astable mode you can get a square waveform (repeating 10s pulses) with a selectable duty cycle.