Author Topic: Crossing Traces  (Read 2479 times)

Offline SnikwahTopic starter

• Contributor
Crossing Traces
« on: November 08, 2015, 10:54:12 am »
Hi All

I am new to this forum. I am relatively new to Diptrace. I had the freeware version for a while and recently purchased the Standard Edition.

I am wondering if there are any options for crossing traces? My preference is to "jump" a crossing trace rather than simply overlapping. Does anyone know of any option for traces? I can't seem to fined any.

Thanks for your time.

Offline John Coloccia

• Super Contributor
Re: Crossing Traces
« Reply #1 on: November 08, 2015, 12:08:27 pm »
I'm not sure what you're asking. Could you try to rephrase it or add more details? I know Diptrace pretty well, as do a couple of other folks here, so I'm sure someone here can probably help you do what you need to do.

Offline sleemanj

• Super Contributor
  • Professional tightwad.
    • The electronics hobby components I sell.
« Reply #2 on: November 08, 2015, 12:28:36 pm »
I get the feeling you are talking about simgle sided board layout, probably home etched?

If so, i generally treat as a double side with just straight via-to-via traces on the off-side which in fabricating i use wire links, or when possible i use a 1206 0R footprint with a "jumper" segment connecting both pads.

The 1206 trick is handy but it does mean if you update from schematic those 1206's go away, so it can be better to just use 2 vias and a bavk side trace set apart suitable you can just remember to solder a 1206 on instead of jumper wire (I wish we could have rectangular shaped via pads).
~~~
EEVBlog Members - get yourself 10% discount off all my electronic components for sale just use the Buy Direct links and use Coupon Code "eevblog" during checkout.  Shipping from New Zealand, international orders welcome :-)

Offline rdl

• Super Contributor
« Reply #3 on: November 08, 2015, 03:16:58 pm »