Author Topic: CRT / VGA  (Read 4967 times)

Offline 0x007Topic starter

• Contributor
CRT / VGA
« on: August 31, 2015, 09:11:54 am »
Hi ,
I am trying to build (playing with) a audio visualiser from an old pc crt screen.
I have some general questions about the hardware of a pc monitor:
first of all , can I some how control the frequency (wave length) of the horizontal sweep using the vga port ?
I've seen a picture of the pinout it has V and H sync, I know that the driver thingy require a synchronization to generate the saw tooth wave so if I'll feed the H sync pin a slower frequency will it sweep slower ?
or is it just me misunderstanding TV anatomy?
And in case I cant use the VGA input ,can some one point me to some datasheet or a webpage in which I can find the pinout of the crt it self and the voltages required to operate it ?
I studied the subject in school but it was all general and I don't know the terminology in English.

Online tszaboo

• Super Contributor
  • Current job: ATEX product design
Re: CRT / VGA
« Reply #1 on: August 31, 2015, 09:29:05 am »
Yes, it is called refresh rate. The monitor has some specific refresh rate it can work on.
https://learn.digilentinc.com/Documents/269
This is a good starting tutorial, at least to understand the basics.

• Contributor
« Reply #2 on: August 31, 2015, 01:07:56 pm »
I see, I wont be able to force it to refresh at the frequency I intended to, using the VGA port .
but I can control the color and the brightness, I'll have to build an external oscillator and a current amplifier to drive the coils directly.

« Last Edit: August 31, 2015, 01:09:36 pm by 0x007 »

• Contributor
« Reply #3 on: August 31, 2015, 01:11:30 pm »
Does it have to get a synchronization signal to keep the screen from going to sleep ?

Offline helius

• Super Contributor
« Reply #4 on: August 31, 2015, 01:39:06 pm »