Author Topic: DC amplifier analysis help.  (Read 2948 times)

Offline logar0Topic starter

DC amplifier analysis help.
« on: September 30, 2014, 04:01:10 pm »
Hello everyone. I am a beginner with electronics. I came across with the following DC transistor amplifier. It is supposed to have a gain of (R2+R3)/R2. The simulation seems to confirm that.

I am trying to solve the circuit, but I can't find a valid solution. My equations are sort in relation to the unknown values. Any help?

Re: DC amplifier analysis help.
« Reply #1 on: September 30, 2014, 06:32:51 pm »
Are my assumptions and calculations done correctly?

Offline LvW

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #2 on: October 01, 2014, 07:12:44 am »
Are my assumptions and calculations done correctly?

Formally (from the mathematical point of view) your result seem to be "correct". However, from the practical point of view your basic assumption (Vin-0.7=Vin) is rather optimistic. This means: You have a signal output for a very small differential input voltage (near zero) across the BE-path o f the 1st transistor. With other words: Infinite open-loop gain. And therefore, your result equals the gain of the classical non-inverting opamp configuration.
The correct result should contain the finite gain of the two-transistor amplifier - together with the feedback resistors [general form: A=Ao/(1-LG)]  with LG=Loop gain.

« Reply #3 on: October 01, 2014, 11:04:17 am »
Thanks you!

Offline XFDDesign

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #4 on: October 02, 2014, 01:41:59 am »
I'm actually unsure if this circuit will work correctly. IR2 will be the sum of Ie1 and IC2. IC2 will be a gained up version if ib2, which is a function of the current in ir1 and ic1 (ic1 = ir1 + ib2). It is wholly possible that the emitter voltage seen on Q1 will be much less than 0.7V due to the current contribution from IC2. The absence of values really makes it hard to give a definitive answer.

Offline LvW

• Frequent Contributor