Author Topic: DC Circuit Theory Question - Any help?  (Read 1364 times)

Offline rdbanksTopic starter

• Contributor
DC Circuit Theory Question - Any help?
« on: January 19, 2018, 11:33:13 pm »
Hi all!

My name is Ryan, I'm a EE student in the UK and have been a follower of the EEV channel for many years - I'm new to the forum and thought I'd ask the question as this is driving me mad! Its a simple past exam question (have an exam on Wednesday) and its pulled from the multiple-choice section - I've emailed the lecture however its 23:30 here and I doubt he'll reply. I'm pretty confident with DC theory however this has left me stumped - maybe its late and i'm drained  |O or maybe, just maybe I've got it correct.. Please see the picture for reference.

I've calculated that (Question 9) - R1 = 36(ohms) however that doesn't appear to be an answer... and Question 10 - V1 = 36V.

My assumption is R3 = 20V, 10(ohms), 2A  (this is in parallel with the resistor to the right) therefore 'i2' = 4A. Considering 'Is' = 5A, 'I1' = 1A.
Therefore, V1 = ('i2'*( ((10*R3)/(10+R3)) + (2+2)) ) = ('4'*( ((10*10)/(10+10)) + (2+2)) ) = ('4'*( 5 + 4 )) = 36V (R1 and the rest to the right are in parallel thus same voltage).

Knowing V1 = 36V, R1 =36V/1A = 36(ohms)

Then for Question 10, V1 = 36V (as calculated above).

I must be wrong as the questions are from a previous examination paper... ???

I know there are a lot of highly experiences guys & girls here, to be honest, I've never signed up (although i've been on this forum as a guest for year) due to being a little afraid of comments such as "if you can't work that out god help you!!" haha - please go easy on me...

Thanks ALL!!
« Last Edit: January 19, 2018, 11:59:00 pm by rdbanks »

• Contributor
Re: DC Circuit Theory Question - Any help?
« Reply #1 on: January 19, 2018, 11:39:57 pm »
Simulating it in Proteus give me the same answers, therefore if i'm wrong it must be due to having calculated R3 incorrectly...

Online Ian.M