Author Topic: Digitech QM1523  (Read 13781 times)

Offline benjzetTopic starter

• Contributor
Digitech QM1523
« on: January 20, 2015, 01:08:46 am »
Good Morning Forum,
I am new to this electronic stuff... For years, I have paid someone else to fix my stuff, well, no more!!

At least in theory.

I am good at soldering and have 4 solder tools, plus flux, wick and a ton of solder (two scope products and a solder gun (non-gas) and one other that has no label).

Anyway, back to the problem at hand. I have a Digitech QM1523 that I brought for $15 at my local Jaycar (photo's pending). I also have an old HP Pavilion Compaq monitor I ripped apart to test (also photo's pending). I am trying to read voltage, the instruction's make no sense and was wondering if I could gain some insider knowledge from here?.

If I am reading the cap's correctly and I like to think I am, the big brown one's are 16v rated and the little brown is 10v rated.

Yet, when I use the multimeter on the upside down U thing on 20k the big brown guy's reach up to 18.27 before I move on (buy they are still climbing) and the little guy reaches 67.9.

Am I doing this correctly? I just want to find something wrong, pat myself on the back, replace it and see if it works :)

Again, that's the theory.

So, what does everyone else here think?

Offline retiredcaps

• Super Contributor
Re: Digitech QM1523
« Reply #1 on: January 20, 2015, 03:52:33 am »
I suggest you watch this 5 minute multimeter tutorial video first followed by Martin's videos.  After some practice measuring some AA, 9V batteries, learn the difference between the hot side and cold side on the SMPS before measuring your Compaq monitor.

Offline retiredcaps

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: January 20, 2015, 04:25:40 am »
Another tutorial using a manual range meter.

https://learn.sparkfun.com/tutorials/how-to-use-a-multimeter

• Contributor
« Reply #3 on: January 20, 2015, 06:54:28 am »
Thank you for the tutorial's.