Author Topic: DIY Solar Powered Power Bank for charging mobile phone  (Read 10616 times)

Offline Shivram10Topic starter

• Contributor
DIY Solar Powered Power Bank for charging mobile phone
« on: November 15, 2014, 08:28:17 pm »
Hello EEVBloggers,

I want your help in designing a Solar powered Power bank out of Li-Ion 18650 batteries
I don't want to buy a cheap Solar Power bank, I want to build this project for the fun of building it.
I have a laptop battery which contain 6 Sanyo UR18650F R1112 2400mAh Lion-Ion which shows individual voltage of 3.59 to 3.7v.

The Phone Battery Specifications :-
Battery - 3000mAh Lithium Polymer
Charging - 5v 1amp

I am an hobbyist and I have a limited knowledge of electronics and I don't want to use Arduino, is it possible to build a power bank out of the 18650 batteries and use a small solar panel to charge the batteries. Is there any schematic available to build a charging circuit as there are no ready made PCBs available where I live, as used in this DIY guide http://www.instructables.com/id/Make-an-inexpensive-Lithium-Ion-Battery-Pack
I have searched many websites and they all use readymade PCBs or use a 3V to 5V Boost Converter Charger Module like this www.dx.com/p/diy-3v-to-5v-1a-boost-pcb-module-for-mobile-charger-power-supply-red-229432 to charge a single battery, I want to use minimum 3 batteries if possible all 6 batteries in the powerbank.

I can get DC-DC 3V to 5V Boost Converter Charger Module though it is available here, any help will be appreciated.

Thanks in advance

Offline Azhar

• Regular Contributor
    • Youtube Channel
Re: DIY Solar Powered Power Bank for charging mobile phone
« Reply #1 on: November 16, 2014, 12:22:11 am »