Author Topic: Do I need a scope?  (Read 4867 times)

Offline ksgeekTopic starter

Do I need a scope?
« on: April 28, 2017, 04:27:31 pm »
Hi. Please excuse the total noob question...

I've got a security background (things like network and web application defense/hacking), but I'm fairly new to the world of hardware. I have a basic understanding of PCBs, components and ICs, and have a tiny bit of experience with logic analyzers. I'd like to set up a lab and I'm wondering if I'll be able to get by without a scope for a while.

Aside from normal soldering setup, I have a decent low-end multimeter and I'm planning to buy a Saleae 8-channel logic analyzer (not the pro version) and a universal device programmer (recommendations welcome--looking in ~$50-$75). I'm mainly interested in snarfing firmware and analyzing communications between components on embedded devices, and just learning more about electronics in general.

My question is, what types of things might I need a scope for, that I wouldn't be able to do with the things I described above? (Remember, I'm a newb, so the more you can explain it like I'm five, the better...)

Thanks!

Offline mjkuwp

• Supporter
  • mechanical engineering defector
    • The Mz Lab
Re: Do I need a scope?
« Reply #1 on: April 28, 2017, 05:01:58 pm »
you don't need it until you need it.   you'll know.  I have scopes at work and I have one at home but I use the DMM way more often.  I also have a simpler, older and smaller Saleae and that is very nice and I use that fairly often.

I don't know what a "universal device programmer" is.

Offline Rbastler

• Frequent Contributor
  • Wörk Wörk
    • Rbastlers Blog
« Reply #2 on: April 28, 2017, 05:20:53 pm »
For a universal device programmer the TL866 could be the thing for you. If I understood correctly the meaning of universal device programmer.
http://rbastlerblog.jimdo.com/
Gamma spectrometer works. Now some yellow crystals need regenerating and testing.

Offline tablatronix