Author Topic: Does a Photoresistor Exist in LTSpiceIV ?  (Read 20175 times)

Offline joydivisionmanTopic starter

Does a Photoresistor Exist in LTSpiceIV ?
« on: October 01, 2015, 12:18:33 am »
I'm a novice with LTSpice.  I've built simple circuits and I see the value of the software.

For whatever reason, I've tried to find a photoresistor, but have not succeeded.  I've scoured the web, and have found some alternative routes, but they look more difficult than need be.

Certainly I am missing something here.  LTSpice IV certainly has the ability to provide a photoresistor, doesn't it?

Online DimitriP

• Super Contributor
  • "Best practices" are best not practiced.© Dimitri
Re: Does a Photoresistor Exist in LTSpiceIV ?
« Reply #1 on: October 01, 2015, 12:54:17 am »
LTSpice doesn't  seem to care if a resistor value varies due to changes in  light,  temperature or someone  turning a knob.

There is a way to simulate a variable resistor:

http://eecs.oregonstate.edu/education/docs/tutorials/LT%20Spice_VarResistor.pdf
   If three 100  Ohm resistors are connected in parallel, and in series with a 200 Ohm resistor, how many resistors do you have? 

Online IconicPCB

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: October 01, 2015, 07:42:35 am »
Go to Yahoo groups and find LTspice group ( there are two ) join up and search extensive model database .

Offline tron9000

• Frequent Contributor
  • Still an Electronics Lab Tech
    • My Hack-a-day project page
« Reply #3 on: October 01, 2015, 12:25:53 pm »
LTSpice doesn't  seem to care if a resistor value varies due to changes in  light,  temperature or someone  turning a knob.

There is a way to simulate a variable resistor:

http://eecs.oregonstate.edu/education/docs/tutorials/LT%20Spice_VarResistor.pdf

As Dimitri put it, its really just varying a resistor value rather than making it change with lumin.