Author Topic: DPS5015 high-side current sense  (Read 3164 times)

Offline kilowatt21Topic starter

DPS5015 high-side current sense
« on: March 06, 2018, 03:20:39 pm »
Hi,

i want to use DPS5015 in my project but high-side current sensing is a must for me. i tried to find schematics for the power supply but wasn't able to. So half a day later i have a crude schematic of it. it's not complete in any way, but the main switching and controlling components is there.
first i disconnected the low side sensing feedback line from R6 and to it feed high side current sensing from INA169.  because i changed the current/voltage ratio i also changed set current circuit by removing R10 and feeding my set current voltage to lifted R8.

i tried using INA169 and LT1999 bouth of those chips does not work well, very unstable.
i think i'll have do something with R21, C7, C8..

if you see any errors in schematic please let me know. Any input towards high-side current solution is welcome.
i'm only a beginner  in these so please go light on me.

Thanks!
« Last Edit: March 06, 2018, 03:23:09 pm by kilowatt21 »

Offline Zero999

• Super Contributor
Re: DPS5015 high-side current sense
« Reply #1 on: March 07, 2018, 11:49:08 am »
I haven't looked at the schematics in great detail, but it's no surprise your changes have caused instability. Adding an extra current sense circuit will introduce an additional phase shift into the system, which can cause oscillation, as can adjusting the current/voltage ratio, which will alter the gain. Making any changes to the current loop, will require the frequency compensation network to be modified too.

Offline plazma

• Frequent Contributor
    • Homepage
« Reply #2 on: March 07, 2018, 12:14:35 pm »
One guy added external sense connectors. I have to ask for details.

Offline glarsson

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #3 on: March 07, 2018, 12:21:44 pm »
What is drawn in the "Gross Overcurrent Protection" box does not make sense.