Author Topic: ECE Student setting up personal lab  (Read 8813 times)

Offline ECEdesignTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
ECE Student setting up personal lab
« on: October 03, 2015, 08:21:43 pm »
Hi everyone, first post here.  Long time EEVBlog watcher.  I am a student in EE at a university in the US.  I may have grant funding for $2,000 to setup test gear for my electronics lab.  I need to know though what would be most important to have in order to  request as part of my grant.  The idea is to get some of the essential gear that will improve my knowledge of the electronics and allow me to do more projects.  I also would use this equipment well after graduation.  At the top of my list is an oscilloscope.  I was thinking of the Rigol DS1054Z.  It seems to be a great balance between price and functionality.  No use in getting a 2000 series Keysight to take up the entire budget.  I was also thinking of the Rigol DP832 Power Supply.  I have an HP supply but it is single output only and I have already needed more than one output for projects.  Then the next things were just ideas of what might be useful for my projects.

Unfortunately I'm only a second year in my classes so I don't have a lot of major classes yet to know what exactly I will be working with in the future.  How often do people use 1) Function generator 2) DC load 3) Precision multimeter?  Is it important to have a ground isolation device?

Would an arbitrary function generator be useful (Rigol DG1022) ?  I haven't really seen Dave use one in his videos so maybe this is a niche product.  Another consideration I had was an electronic DC Load like the BK Precision 8540.  I was also considering a precision multimeter (Rigol DM3058E) because my meter is only 6000 count and for some of my projects a few more decimal points would have been helpful.