Author Topic: edit content 95020WP?  (Read 5240 times)

Offline legepeTopic starter

• Contributor
edit content 95020WP?
« on: May 04, 2016, 03:29:56 pm »
Hi all,
Recieved today the mini pro tl866cs and want to copy the contents of a 95020WP, erase it, edit the content then copy back to the 95020WP
Firstly, there is no marking on one of the corners of the eeprom to identify which way it should be inserted to the programmer. Can someone please tell me how to identify which way it should go...
My other concern is that it is WP.. which i understand stands for write protect. will this be stright forward to copy and edit the data or could i possibly do some damage?
I'm brand new to this kind of thing and don't want to make any mistakes...
Your advice is appreciated...
legepe

Offline newbrain

• Super Contributor
Re: edit content 95020WP?
« Reply #1 on: May 04, 2016, 08:43:18 pm »
The datasheet is always a good source for this kind of information.

If the package is a SO8 (possibly the most common?), you'll notice that one of the edges is slanted.
See the picture below for pin numbering:
with the slanted side on your left, pin 1 is top left, usual counter-clockwise numbering.

As for WP, according to the ST datasheet, the W stands for 2.5V to 5.5V operating voltage, and the P for Rohs compliance.
Nandemo wa shiranai wa yo, shitteru koto dake.

Offline rstofer

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: May 04, 2016, 09:44:08 pm »
Were it me, I would build a little test jig with an Arduino or even a Raspberry PI (better choice).  I would NEVER rewrite the original EEPROM, instead I would put a solid ground on Pin 3 - W' (logic '1' on Hold' as well) to prevent write and hold operations.  Then I would get some other chips (they are available on eBay among other places) and DigiKey has them for $0.23.  I would only write to the new chips.  That way, I'm never any worse off than when I began.