Author Topic: Electronics from Mechanical Engineering!  (Read 2018 times)

Offline mroseno1Topic starter

Electronics from Mechanical Engineering!
« on: January 08, 2017, 02:55:27 am »
Hi there!

So I'm new here! I'm a recent engineering grad who wants to learn more about electronics design. Sad news, not the most helpful background to do that! I just finished Mechanical engineering undergrad and have been out in the working world a year. Yes yes, I came from the dark side :-) Anyways, I learned in my last year at school from programming TI MSP-4030 microcontrollers, some power converter design, and arduino work I really love electronics, programming, and basically anything in between! Wish I coulda been a double major, but I never knew it at the time! I have a few questions for all the people out here, it's kind of a bit of a list so people can answer whichever ones they want. Thanks :-)

1). What's the best way for someone with just a mechanical background to get into electronics design career wise? Any companies to look at? For those curious, I'm in the midwestern United States.

2). What's the best sort of beginner projects to work on? I really am a rapid prototype learner, In my mind I would love to be able to just start throwing circuits together to see what works and...well to honest for the beginning, mostly what doesn't work! Dave's mentioned in several videos I've watched to build my own power supply, which would be nice. I'd really love any list of just, things to play with and I can explore from there. Kind of a sub question, what's a good way to get components just for practicing? Do I really need to buy components for just learning? Would a meter and desoldering old scrap components be fine?