Author Topic: Elenco Function Generator FG-500K & DC Power Supply  (Read 7029 times)

Offline LonghairTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
Elenco Function Generator FG-500K & DC Power Supply
« on: December 17, 2010, 10:16:36 am »
I built the Elenco Function Generator FG-500K and when I hook it up to a DC power supply, the thing is almost unusable because of all the interference that it generates when using it with an oscilloscope.

I am new to using an oscilloscope and pretty much electronics in general, so this would probably be a good learning experience for me to make the FG-500K as stable with a DC power supply as it is with the 9v battery. My first uneducated guess would be to replace the 1000uF 16V Electrolytic capacitor with a different value, but how would I know is the correct one to use?

Could someone point me in the right direction by sharing a link to a tutorial or video on the subject?

Thanks

Offline arcom

• Contributor
    • Arc's Lab
Re: Elenco Function Generator FG-500K & DC Power Supply
« Reply #1 on: December 17, 2010, 10:35:40 am »
Sounds like your DC power supply is not really DC and has a large voltage ripple.
What power supply are you using? What kind of interference does it generate? Unstable frequency or distorted waveforms?

You can try replacing the 1000uF cap with something bigger...let's say 4700uF but I think that the problem is in your power supply.

Offline LonghairTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
« Reply #2 on: December 17, 2010, 11:20:58 am »