Author Topic: expected ')' before string constant  (Read 11088 times)

Offline skillz21Topic starter

• Frequent Contributor
expected ')' before string constant
« on: July 14, 2017, 12:25:03 pm »
Hi!
I am an absolute Arduino noob and I want to get my coding skills up. I'm doing a project at the moment of a 'Maths Game' where I need to get two random numbers and print them like this to my display, like this lcd.print(val1 "+" val2). (i want to randomise the operator later on too, if you have any suggestions on how to do that plz help) I have to type the answer in with a 4x4 numerical keypad. The code I mentioned earlier doesn't work. The error pops up: "expected ')' before string constant" what did I do wrong?

Thx

Full code: (Bear in mind, it's not complete yet, this is what I have made so far by stitching together pieces of code from different library examples, yes I know I shouldn't do that, but I am hoping I can learn enough so that I can write it on my own some day)

#include <Keypad.h>
#include <Wire.h>
#include <LiquidCrystal_I2C.h>

const byte ROWS = 4;
const byte COLS = 4;

int val1;
int val2;
int result;

LiquidCrystal_I2C lcd(0x27, 16, 2);

char keys[ROWS][COLS] = {
  {'1','2','3','A'},
  {'4','5','6','B'},
  {'7','8','9','C'},
  {'*','0','#','D'}
};
byte rowPins[ROWS] = {5, 4, 3, 2};
byte colPins[COLS] = {8, 7, 6, 9};

Keypad keypad = Keypad( makeKeymap(keys), rowPins, colPins, ROWS, COLS );

void setup(){
  Serial.begin(9600);
    lcd.begin();
    lcd.clear();
    lcd.backlight();
}

void loop(){

char key = keypad.getKey();

lcd.setCursor(0, 0);
  lcd.print("Maths Game 1.0");
  lcd.setCursor(0, 1);
  lcd.print("Loading...");

delay(3000);

val1 = random(0, 10);
val2 = random(0, 10);
result = val1+val2;

lcd.setCursor(0, 0);
lcd.print(val1 "+" val2);

}

Offline samnmax

• Regular Contributor
Re: expected ')' before string constant
« Reply #1 on: July 14, 2017, 12:33:03 pm »
The last line is not correct:

Code: [Select]
lcd.print(val1 "+" val2);