Author Topic: First Bench Supply - Ripple/Noise Problems...  (Read 12277 times)

Offline MikeNyeTopic starter

• Contributor
First Bench Supply - Ripple/Noise Problems...
« on: August 19, 2012, 08:16:01 am »
Hi everyone,

As per Dave's comments in the first LT3080-based power supply video, as a beginner, I've been working on designing my own bench supply as my first foray into analog electronics.

I'm working on a bench supply with the following specs:
  • 0-30V Regulated DC Output
  • 0-3A Constant Current / Current Limit
  • Linear

I have chosen to use a series pass transistor driven by an op amp, rather than go with an 'all-in-one' style regulator such as the LT3080 / LM317 etc. This is mainly due to:
  • It appears easier to get a 0V output with this configuration
  • Hopefully, I'll learn more in the process...  :)

I have learned quite a lot from looking at Markus_B's design (https://www.eevblog.com/forum/projects-designs-and-technical-stuff/lab-powersupply-markus-take/), and also from reading the HP power supply handbook (http://cp.literature.agilent.com/litweb/pdf/5989-6288EN.pdf).

My design appears to work, however I have big problems with ripple and noise...

The schematic is as follows:

LTSpice schematics are here (http://jollyroger.narx.net/power_supply_ltspice_rev_G.asc) for those playing along at home.

The issue that I'm having is that there appears to be a lot of noise/ripple on the supply output in both CV & CC/CL operation.

I should note that I haven't yet breadboarded this circuit yet - I'm still working within LTSpice...

I can get CV operation to be stable when simulating if I remove "C1", "C2" and "C4", however this makes CC/CL operation very noisy.

With "C1", "C2" and "C4" in circuit with their current values, CL/CC operation is somewhat stable at higher currents (>1A), however at lower currents there is significant ripple.