Author Topic: First oscilloscope dilemma  (Read 14010 times)

Offline picofaradTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
First oscilloscope dilemma
« on: September 15, 2013, 06:37:59 pm »
Hello there,
I need an oscilloscope, but since I'm a beginner and due to the economic crisis, I don't want to spend much money.
So, following Dave's advices I started searching around for analog scopes and I found two in my area:
 - the first one is an old italian scope made in the '70s. Single channel, 10 MHz. Fully operational. The seller would give me all the schematics and complete manual. Price: 50€;

- the second one is an Hung Chang 5502. Dual channel, 20 MHz. The scope shows a small linear trace in the center of the display, but the seller said that he doesn't know how to use it, so he sells it as not working. Seems to be hard to find the manual and schematics. Price: 50€;

The dilemma is: if I get the first one, I would have a working scope with manual and schematics, but it's nearly 40 years old and it's single channel, that for the moment it's enough to me;
if I get the second one, it could be both working and not working, but it's dual channel and 20 MHz. Besides, if the second one is not working it could be both a broken cap (so I might probably fix it) and something else (I'm not too good in troubleshooting).

What do you recommend to do?

P.S. As always, sorry for my english. :)

Offline envisionelec

• Frequent Contributor
Re: First oscilloscope dilemma
« Reply #1 on: September 15, 2013, 07:39:25 pm »
Hung Chang 5502 is also Protek 5502.

Not exactly the same model number, but I bet it's close.

http://www.eserviceinfo.com/equipment_mfg/Protek_35.html

• Regular Contributor
« Reply #2 on: September 15, 2013, 07:56:46 pm »
Thanks for the info.
The italian one is a Unaohm type G49.

Here there are some pics and info.
http://www.radiomuseum.org/r/unaohm_oscilloscopio_g_49.html?language_id=2

Offline Stonent

• Super Contributor