Author Topic: First Oscilloscope Questions  (Read 2501 times)

Offline FantomeTopic starter

First Oscilloscope Questions
« on: October 22, 2014, 09:45:42 pm »
Hi, I'm Fantome, and yes, I am a beginner.
I just purchased my first ever oscilloscope, a Rigol DS1074Z, and I am slowly feeling my way around. I have watched a number of video OS tutorials and have started to experiment using an Arduino Uno. I have a few questions, mostly regarding some print-screens that I have hopefully attached properly.
The program I am using is the blink program with the delays removed. So the code turns the LED on then immediately turns the LED off, and repeats forever, basically generating a square wave with a period defined by the capabilities of the Arduino Uno hardware.

Here are my questions (and please feel free to correct my wrong assumptions and improper use of electronics terms/vocabulary:)

• In image 1, it would appear that it takes approximately 4 microseconds to "Turn the LED on", and 4.6 microseconds to "Turn the LED off". But if you look carefully at the image, there appears to be some ghosting which I am guessing occurs because sometimes the Arduino is interrupting my code with its own code which causes the LED to stay on or off longer than normal. Question: Is the brightness of the ghosting mostly proportional to how often it is occurring or might it only be occurring very rarely but something like phosphor persistence lets me see it?
  • In image 2, I have zoomed in on the time scale and I notice that it is using only 60 points. So at 1G Samples per second, and 60 points per 1 plot, am I right in thinking that the OS is showing me approximately 20800 plots per second? By plot I mean one single occurrence of the observed portion of the waveform, is there better terminology for this?