Author Topic: First PCB Design  (Read 5434 times)

Offline Sparky_FreakTopic starter

• Contributor
First PCB Design
« on: February 29, 2016, 02:12:28 am »
My first pcb design and i was wondering where or more specifically which pcb house to use i am a student so dont have tat much cash .i would only like to produce like 20 or so boards and i would assemble it my self. Its a basic project sort of like the ? ruler well a shorter version i would also like to put some type of circuit on it maybe a mini dc volt indicator like a led based device to indicate 5v,12v,24v and so on. i would like to work in industrial automation (E&I) and would like to give these to possible employers as gifts so they can remember me i also live in Trinidad so like every thing has to be imported any advice would be welcome. Or i am still working on the layout kinda learning as i go along lol so as soon as i am able i would post schematics and so on   

Offline MarkF

• Super Contributor
Re: First PCB Design
« Reply #1 on: February 29, 2016, 02:21:32 am »
I have yet to be able to upload anything to the OSHPark web site....   :-//

I'm considering using PCB Prototypes for my first designs.

Offline MarkF

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: February 29, 2016, 03:12:19 am »
I have yet to be able to upload anything to the OSHPark web site....   :-//

I'm considering using PCB Prototypes for my first designs.

I never had any problems at all. I use FireFox 44.0.2.
The link you provided is, uh, not looking good. $150 for 4 layer PCB, with 7 mil width/spacing and 14 mil drills? That's 20 years old technology.
Modern low cost prototyping fabs can make 6/6mil trace and 12 mil drills with almost 100% yield, or 4/4mil trace and 10mil drills with mandatory e-test.

I see the OSHPark web site doesn't work with IE 11.

Comparing costs, I have a 5"x5" board with 2 layers:
   OSHPark wants $125 for 3 boards
   PCB Prototypes wants $70 for 4 boards.