Author Topic: First steps testing and troubleshooting bench power supply  (Read 9812 times)

Offline guymoTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
First steps testing and troubleshooting bench power supply
« on: August 04, 2017, 03:46:55 pm »
Hello,

I'm a relative newbie and have just got hold of my first bench power supply, an old HP 6205C which should be more than enough for my interests for now. I got it cheap and sold "as is" so I'm just starting to play around with it and see how well it works. I have a few questions!

At first sight it seems the output voltage drifts down quite a bit. This is very apparent on start up, but settles down after 30 minutes or so, though still noticeable even on my low res multimeter: maybe 10mV every few minutes. I have not tested under load, though -- would that make a difference? And is a rapid drift expected as the supply warms up? (The service manual does suggest a 30 minute warm up before making stability tests.)

The manual suggest using a 133 Ohm load resistor to test the supply at 20V/0.6A. Is it safe to use e.g. 12 x 2k 0.25W resistors in parallel? Each one should then be dissipating 0.2W. Do I need more margin than that? Or should I try something else entirely?

I have more questions but I'll leave it here for now. Thanks for any help!

Offline alm

• Super Contributor
Re: First steps testing and troubleshooting bench power supply
« Reply #1 on: August 04, 2017, 04:53:21 pm »
My basic tests would be:
- With knobs set to max, does it output close to its maximum voltage or somewhat higher? Check the output for ripple.
- If you turn down the voltage knob, does the voltage go down? Go all the way down to zero.