Author Topic: First time gear  (Read 10793 times)

Offline testtube44Topic starter

• Contributor
First time gear
« on: September 12, 2017, 02:49:20 am »
I would like to know; what are the best, most reliable, and functional of the following tools for these prices?

Oscilloscope for under $300
Multimeter for under $150
Function generator for under $150
Soldering iron for under $150

This is my first time buying equipment, I am just beginning in electronics/electricity.
+ Is it miss-guided of me to think that a function generator merged with a power supply is a good idea?

« Last Edit: September 12, 2017, 02:52:44 am by testtube44 »

Online ataradov

• Super Contributor
    • Personal site
Re: First time gear
« Reply #1 on: September 12, 2017, 03:44:07 am »
Redistribute the money from overpriced mult-meter and underpriced function generator and get Rigol DS1054Z.

Some cheap Uni-T or even Harbor freight special will do. They are perfectly fine for beginner use.

I use UNI-T UT136B ($16) in my day to day life, and very rarely I see the need for higher-end meter. In the beginner situation, it will be more than enough. They are nice and compact and do everything multimeter should do.

You either need a lot more money, or get one of those $80 eBay cheapies. They have decent parameters, but horrific UI. This is something you will have to deal with, if you don't want to pay $300.

Hakko fx-888d.

+ Is it miss-guided of me to think that a function generator merged with a power supply is a good idea?
Can you even find a thing like that? It is probably a bad idea, since devices have substantially different functions.
« Last Edit: September 12, 2017, 03:47:29 am by ataradov »
Alex

The following users thanked this post: agehall, lacek

Offline Mr. Scram

• Super Contributor
  • Display aficionado
« Reply #2 on: September 12, 2017, 03:55:48 am »
Redistribute the money from overpriced mult-meter and underpriced function generator and get Rigol DS1054Z.