Author Topic: Forcing Accessory-Mode in Vehicle after stopping the engine  (Read 2219 times)

Offline Sebastian S.Topic starter

Forcing Accessory-Mode in Vehicle after stopping the engine
« on: January 18, 2019, 02:40:21 pm »
Hello everyone,

I'm a long time watcher of the EEV-Blog and do have some interest to electronics because I'm a car mechanic and profess in diagnostics of electronic functions. Unfortunately we don't go as deep as opening ECUs and figuring out what's wrong within them as the manufacturers don't provide data to do so. I am able to read schematics, take measurements and identify basic parts thanks to the blog.
What I'm not able to is figuring out what parts I need to make my wish a reality. I want to have the Accessory-Mode in my car active after I turned off the engine. Since this is a modern car with a push button instead of the conventional ignition switch this has proven rather hard. I am now at the point where I have sketched down how I think it could work and hope you can help me pick the correct parts.

So basic information first:
  • The Modes Accessory (further refered to as [ACC]) and Ignition (further refered to as [IG]) are controlled by 2 independent relays
  • Said relays are switched on and off by the Start Stop Unit (further refered to as [SSU])
  • Upon pushing the Start button once, [ACC] is turned on. Pushing a second time, [IG] is turned on. If the clutch (MT) or Brake pedal (AT) is depressed the engine will start in any mode
  • While the engine is running and the Button is pressed everything will be turned off
  • Software configuration is no option according to the manufacturer, the ECU is secured with Anti-Theft-Bolts and getting it out to check for internals takes a long time

My requirements for the component to add
  • Receive both 12V and Ground from the vehicle to operate. Voltage source can go up to 16V