Author Topic: beginner bench power supply question before buying  (Read 2620 times)

Offline ergyaTopic starter

• Contributor
beginner bench power supply question before buying
« on: October 09, 2018, 08:50:21 pm »
Hi everyone,

First off if this is too much to answer because simple my knowledge is low on this topic can someone point me to a good read/book where I can learn more about this topic?

I'd like to buy a bench power supply. At the moment I am a complete beginner to EE things. I am sure I won't work with high current/voltage in the near future but I like high quality stuff and I don't want to limit myself if I need more power (and I especially hate when I have to buy a new something because the first one was compromised). So I am thinking of buying one of these:
  • Rigol DP832
  • AIM-TTI MX180T(P) for more power if I need in the future

As I am a beginner I need all protection I can get (shorting...) with reliable components so that I won't kill the PSU. Are there any other alternatives to consider? Is AIM-TTI regarded as a high-quality reliable PSU?

One another question, Dave talks about "floating" or "isolated" power supplies in this video (at 7.44): https://youtu.be/xaELqAo4kkQ?t=444. According to AIM-TTI MX 180T manual on page 7 here: http://resources.aimtti.com/manuals/MX180T+MX180TP_Instruction_Manual-Iss6.pdf
  • "Both are fully floating and either can be connected to ground or to a terminal of another output".
Are the 2 things (what Dave is talking about and what the manual says) the same?

Just to have better knowledge on this topic, if I compare for example R&D HMP4030 (if I am correct it is regarded as a high-end PSU) with AIM-TTI MX180T are these numbers make any big difference for a hobbyist?

Accuracy (reading):
  • R&S: < 0.05% + 5 mV and < 0.1% + 2 mA
  • MX180T: Voltage - 0.05% of reading ± 3mV; (± 30mV on 120V range) and Current - 0.3% of reading ± 3mA to 3A, 0.5% of reading ± 3mA to 10A: 0.5% of reading ± 4mA to 20A
Load regulations: