Author Topic: Fun project -hack cheap handheld console- help with BGA NAND flash chip needed  (Read 16897 times)

Offline MaitrotPTopic starter

Hi guys!

I got this pocket game for something like 15$ from dx some years ago.

I bought it mainly for hacking it or as a parts source. Back then I did not know what a NOAC (Nintendo on a chip, yes that exists!) is and thought the thing had a µC running some sort of emulator. Now, I found some time for it and opened it. :

On the board there´s not much going on except power and audio circuitry as well as the NOAC under a blob of epoxy. What does seem hackable though and well accessible is the flash chip (supposedly). My thought is maybe to extract the code with the roms from the thing and compile an own one with good games :-)
I have some rusty 6502/10 asm experience and the rom is the least of my concerns.

The BGA flash chip has been put on a piece of PCB for good accessibility.  However I can´t find any info regarding the chip itself. It says "6600M0Y0UE" (don’t have account at intel) and if it was put on that piece of pcb from the manufacturer of the chip itself (intel, unlikely) or by the Famiclone manufacturer (maybe) or by some middleman company (most likely) so there must be info for the flash’s pcb somewhere…??
Anybody has an idea how to read and write data on that thing? SPI? What hardware would I need to access it? Where can I find info on the said chip? Googling for 6600M0Y0UE just
spits out some chinese parts suppliers and not a single PDF. Am I not able to read part numbers correctly?
Best regards!

Offline daveshah

• Supporter
    • Projects
I was looking into doing something similar a few years ago and got hold of the pinout for the whole module - not sure if yours is the same but at a glance looks like Vcc is in the same place at least.

Offline daveshah

• Supporter
    • Projects