Author Topic: Getting an Analog oscilloscope  (Read 5127 times)

Offline mkpak93Topic starter

Getting an Analog oscilloscope
« on: December 16, 2013, 10:58:33 pm »
Hi all, I'm a beginner hobbyist from the usa, and I was wondering what analog oscilloscope would be good for a beginner. I've watched Dave's video where he encourages beginner hobbyist such as myself to go out an get one as oppoosed to the DSOs or whatever they're called lol. I looked through ebay and am willing to spend no more than 80 bucks. im a student and i cant invest too much :/

I have asked my EE department at my uni if they had any spare. they did but they weren't willing to give em away, idk why

As for the ebay ones, I don't really know which ones to trust and which ones not to, sometimes some say, "for parts or not working" when there's clearly a trace, and other times they say its "used but functioning" and i dont see a trace in the photos. So I was wonder if anyone out there could steer me in the right direction as to where I can find a good cheap reliable analog scope, thanks  :)

Offline c4757p

• Super Contributor
  • adieu
Re: Getting an Analog oscilloscope
« Reply #1 on: December 16, 2013, 11:14:06 pm »
If it's a simple instrument (usually the 50 MHz and under ones) and it's got a trace it probably works. If it has a trace then you know 1) power supplies are good, 2) horiz. sweep is good, 3) trigger is probably good, 4) vertical deflection is good (usually one side of the vertical driver fails and the trace slams to the top or bottom). There's not much else in a simple scope. More complex ones like the Tek 24x5s can have hidden problems.

Even if it has a single dot in the center, it's not really likely that both H and V will fail in such a way that the trace doesn't slam to one edge or corner. It's probably just in X-Y mode and the seller didn't know any better.