Author Topic: getting started on hands-on projects  (Read 6160 times)

G-man

getting started on hands-on projects
« on: February 13, 2010, 12:52:10 pm »
hi folks,
Just bumped on to Dave's page via Tom Haye's course page (of AoE fame )... first off, kudos to Dave's video blog- real value infotainment!  ;D

Ok, a quick intro about me- I'm a newbie IC-design engineer working for a niche audio-codec company based in the UK. I hold a master's degree in microelectronics. I belong to the generation of electronics engineers who did little hands-on tinkering in their teens.. and even in engineering school, it was mostly theory and not much lab work. I guess many would be familiar with this tribe - who are raised on a diet of spice simulations!
So, today I find myself stumped that I don't get it how "it's all done in the lab".. I was almost embarassed i couldn't set up an eval board at work for a chip I helped design   :-[
Over the years, I've been meaning to teach myself hands-on by building some projects etc.. but have procrastinated to no end  :-\... not just that I was lazy but also, I was overwhelmed by so much complexity out there.. didn't know where to start from??!

So, here's my appeal to all experienced folks out there to give me some tips on getting started with hands-on electronics- starting from buying tools and basic instruments to set up a mini-lab, to suggesting audio/analogue projects (that's what I like most) which will help me enjoy 'doing electronics'!

Offline DJPhil

• Frequent Contributor
Re: getting started on hands-on projects
« Reply #1 on: February 13, 2010, 03:12:23 pm »
My experience so far in life is limited to repair and recycle, and I'm only just starting to get into the design side. Your question was very broad, so I'll try to spread it out into chunks that are easier to focus on.

Tools: