Author Topic: Girino project or an o-scope using arduino board  (Read 4089 times)

Offline paul18frTopic starter

• Contributor
  • Hobbyist & beginner
Girino project or an o-scope using arduino board
« on: August 19, 2014, 09:25:50 pm »
Dear All

I'm just starting to learn electronics/Arduino progs (hobby in a first time) and of course I do not plan to purchase an o-scope at the moment.

I've found Girino project (and derivative) in order to have an "o-scope" using an arduino card :
http://www.instructables.com/id/Girino-Fast-Arduino-Oscilloscope/
https://github.com/Chatanga/Girinoscope
http://wiki.ros.org/rosserial_arduino/Tutorials/Arduino%20Oscilloscope

and so on

Basically I want to find a trick to visualize signals (when I’ll learn 555 IC’s to generate different types of signals - one example among others)

I’m not familiar with both Arduino and electronics, so is there somebody who has ever installed and used guirino (or derivative projects) ?

NB: girino seems to have a better bandwidth ; not sure but I’ve read something like 20 KHz that is enough for the beginner I am !

Thanks for any feedback

Paul

Offline fubar.gr

• Supporter
    • Fubar.gr
Re: Girino project or an o-scope using arduino board
« Reply #1 on: August 20, 2014, 11:16:00 am »
Interesting as an exercise on Arduino, but useless as oscilloscopes, even for a beginner.

In my opinion, if you want to learn electronics you should invest on a proper oscilloscope, it will be the single most useful instrument on your bench.

Dicking around with something like that will only keep you back from learning.

Offline paul18frTopic starter

• Contributor
  • Hobbyist & beginner
« Reply #2 on: August 20, 2014, 11:33:19 am »
Hi

You're certainly right, but one thing at a time; it's a non-negligible invest (and too much information's and a real lack of skill in found to select ...)