Author Topic: Meters in LTspice and Tina-TI (DC analysis)?  (Read 24267 times)

Offline AntlabTopic starter

• Contributor
Meters in LTspice and Tina-TI (DC analysis)?
« on: March 09, 2012, 11:06:58 pm »
Hi all.
I am quite new to the circuit simulator programs, so I am experimenting with the different possibilities. At present I am comparing LTSpice and Tina-TI. One thing I like of Tina-TI is that you can insert different type of meters (voltmeters, ammeters and so on), directly in the circuit, and when performing a DC analysis they show the values of voltage, current, and other parameters.
In LTSpice I did not find a similar feature. I know that in DC analysis you obtain a text window with the reference points, and if you use the probe you have the various values on the bottom info line, but in my opinion this is much less immediate than directly visualize the values on the circuit as in Tina-TI.
I am missing something? What do you think about the subject? I am open to any suggestion.
Thanks.

A.

Offline Bored@Work

• Super Contributor
Re: Meters in LTspice and Tina-TI (DC analysis)?
« Reply #1 on: March 10, 2012, 11:30:44 am »
LTSpice is limited in that sense. You have a strange, largely undocumented feature for placing voltage labels on nets.

Remove all .STEP directives from the circuit. The feature works with fixed element values only.

Select DC operating point (.OP) analysis.

Click right on the background, then select

View->Show .op Data Flags

Turn the checkbox on for that item.

Run the simulation. Only after you ran the simulation once you can perform the next step.

Right click on the background, then select

View->Place .op Data Label

Move the label to a net. Once dropped at a net, it should display the DC operating point value of that net.