Author Topic: > 140c ARM M0 based board  (Read 4277 times)

Offline revengeofpodusTopic starter

> 140c ARM M0 based board
« on: March 27, 2015, 06:06:34 pm »
Hi All I am new.
I am also new to my job and company.

MY job is running the daily operations of a Fabless semiconductor start up. We deisgn chips that can function while really , really hot   - 250c for thousands of hours  +2000hrs so far. While I have plenty of experience running a business, I have little in the IC world.

So without wanting to look dumb I am trying to find a way to educate myself. On A) why its even a big deal that we can do this B) why anyone would ever need it?

MY company is testing  18mb SRAM at 250c and it has been running continuously while at 250C and passed 2000 hours at temp. We also built an ARM M0 and plan to test it at the same temp, there are high temp boards in development where the entire board will be on a ceramic sub straight and every device is 250c capable (its seems they can redesign any circuit to be high temp)

IT all sounds really exciting... but why would anyone want a board running at that temperature? we keep talking about down hole oil drilling- and some of those holes they drill do get to 250c.. but I still don't get the business model...?

I keep wanting to ask what is wrong with 150C? I know cars use chips and boards, and while not everything in the car gets 250C a lot of it gets 150c.. but more so why not just add cooling to the board (like the video game computers have). Anyone here really know why being able to operate at up to 250c would be considered revolutionary.. ?

any insight into computer chips in hot places would be greatly appreciated ( I would like to be able to have more conversation than just employee reimbursments or equipment purchases..

ROP   

Online AndyC_772

• Super Contributor
  • Professional design engineer
    • Cawte Engineering | Reliable Electronics
Re: > 140c ARM M0 based board
« Reply #1 on: March 27, 2015, 06:28:16 pm »