Author Topic: Handheld Oscilloscope for auto testing  (Read 12152 times)

antb

Handheld Oscilloscope for auto testing
« on: December 26, 2009, 08:49:37 pm »
Hi guys, first post here, and very new to the techy end of electronics, but hopefully you clever folks can offer some guidance?

I'm a motor mechanic and looking for a handheld oscilloscope to test the presence and quality of signals produced by vehicle sensors and Actuator signals from the cars computer.
Now I've looked around and I keep arriving back at the pico-scope range of DSO's but I really want to maintain complete portability without having to drag around and set up a laptop etc.

Can you guys please advise on wether any of these will suit my needs:

http://www.tequipment.net/Velleman_hps40.html

or

http://www.gendan.co.uk/product_TA220.html

Obviously the price difference is pretty big, and one is designed for motors, but are either really practical for auomotive testing purposes? In terms of Bandwidth/ sample rate / memory etc what do I need?

Sorry if these seems like daft questions, just this is not really 'my arena' yet. ???

thanks in advance :)

Offline APS

• Contributor
Re: Handheld Oscilloscope for auto testing
« Reply #1 on: December 28, 2009, 06:30:45 pm »
I think you should go for the second one (Sealey TA220). This one have two channels, its customised for automotive application. As its says it has "Reference waveforms and automatic configuration"  so you dont have to configure scope for specific measuring. I think this also imply you have all the waveforms for comparing with ones you mesured. 
Viewed from multimeter view this TA220 is more suited for car workshop (RPM, Duty, Dwell, Pulse Width).
Another big advance of TA220 is Inductive and capacitive pick-ups that come with it. Its used for viewing spark waveforms etc.

Offline charliex

• Frequent Contributor
  • Car Hacker
« Reply #2 on: December 28, 2009, 06:57:24 pm »