Author Topic: [SOLVED] Cheep eBay tachometer mod  (Read 2843 times)

Offline randall78Topic starter

[SOLVED] Cheep eBay tachometer mod
« on: March 12, 2016, 01:06:53 am »
High all,
So I work as a mechanical engineer for a manufacturing company here in the UK and have treated myself to a new contact/non-contact tachometer. When it arrived I was pleasantly surprised as it was a nice looking unit, easy to use and worked well. However, when I checked it's accuracy I found it to be reading twice the speed that it should be. The seller is going to send me a new one by the way. But I decided "TAKE IT APART" and have a play with it. After some fiddling around I found that by changing the crystal oscillator to one of a different value I was able to get it to display almost the correct speed, but not quite. There is no calibration settings by the way. I was wondering if I could just bodge a small potentiometer in there somewhere to allow me to fine tune it as there is no calibration setting. The original crystal was 4Mhz. By replacing it with a 6 Mhz crystal it increased its accuracy. If bodging a small potentiometer in there somewhere is even possible, I would not know where to put it as my electrical knowledge is somewhat limited. Just thought it might be cool to modify it instead of just throwing it away. I have included some detailed images of the PCB if anyone has any ideas.
Sorry, just noticed after posting that I have labeled two ic's the wrong way round.
« Last Edit: March 18, 2016, 08:54:30 am by randall78 »

Offline uncle_bob

• Supporter
Re: Cheep eBay tachometer mod
« Reply #1 on: March 12, 2016, 01:30:08 am »
High all,