Author Topic: Hardware anti-cycle  (Read 1365 times)

Offline paulcaTopic starter

• Super Contributor
Hardware anti-cycle
« on: December 15, 2017, 11:05:22 am »
I was doing a little planning for connecting my home heating controller to the boiler (xmas holiday project).

I am a software engineer, so it might surprise you (or not) that I would like the implement the protection mechanics in hardware.

What I do not want is a software failure to cycle the boiler on, off, on, off, on, off, 10 times a second repeatedly.  The boiler of course has it's own anti-cycle device, so if you switch it off and back on again it will not actually start/ignite for 1 minute. 

I want to do the same on my relay controller.

I'm sure there is something I can do with a basic RC circuit and an NPN transistor or a 555.

The idea I think would be to switch the control signal to the relay via the NPN, but put an RC on the base with a 1 minute time constant.  Thus regardless of what the control signal is from the Raspberry PI (in this case) the NPN will be switched off and it will not fire the relay.

When the circuit is switched off the RC circuit would be momentarily discharged, then begin charging once more.  Only when it is fully charged is the control signal connected back to the relay.

I can probably work something out, but as this is probably a very common circuit I thought I would ask if there are any clever ways to do this "off the shelf".

Basic requirements:
Allow the control signal to set the relay (opto-decoupled 5V coil, 240V 10A) OFF without any restrictions.
Do not allow the relay coil to be re-energized within 1 minute of it being switched off.
If the relay signal is set ON and kept ON after 1 minute it will energize the coil and switch on.
If the relay has been OFF for > 1 minute then it should be allowed to switch ON instantly.
« Last Edit: December 15, 2017, 11:08:28 am by paulca »
"What could possibly go wrong?"