Author Topic: Heat Gun Question  (Read 12645 times)

Offline RenegadeTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
Heat Gun Question
« on: February 13, 2016, 07:54:51 pm »
A learning electronics textbook that I'm reading recommends buying the cheapest heat gun I can find at my local hardware store, as opposed to buying a professional desoldering workstation. (This is for soldering/desoldering.)

I really don't want to drop a few hundred on a desoldering workstation, but I don't want to buy a heat gun that simply won't do what I need.

I understand that the kinds of heat guns in the hardware store have broader nozzles, and that this isn't very appropriate for soldering work. However, I can also narrow the nozzle there, so that's less of a concern (but still there).

However, I would like to hear some experienced opinions on the topic.

FWIW - I am just a beginner here, and not a professional. I am not doing commercial work, so some additional frustration from using non-professional tools is expected, and I'm ok with that.

(My first project to use a heat gun with will be a DSO138 oscilloscope DIY kit. I'll also give it a shot on some old motherboards to practice with it first.)

Any thoughts on heat guns for beginners on a budget?
Electronics newb... please be gentle. :)

Offline Jeroen3

• Super Contributor
  • Embedded Engineer
    • jeroen3.nl
Re: Heat Gun Question
« Reply #1 on: February 13, 2016, 08:05:10 pm »
Heat guns from the hardware store have way too much airflow. All your SMD will fly away. But I used it once, for reflowing an SMD board with 1206 and other large stuff when the oven was broken. Lots of drifters and rework required....
Don't get one of those.

A cheap hot air station is not expensive $60 should get you one.

Offline AndyC_772

• Super Contributor
  • Professional design engineer
    • Cawte Engineering | Reliable Electronics
« Reply #2 on: February 13, 2016, 08:07:46 pm »