Author Topic: Hello everyone!  (Read 2606 times)

Offline cvrivTopic starter

• Frequent Contributor
Hello everyone!
« on: November 07, 2015, 03:54:44 am »
My name is Charles and I live in the United States of America:) I love EEVBLOG so much. I can't stop watching the video's on youtube. LOL. Anyways. I'm an electronics engineering student and I'm doing very well. I love so much. Here's the deal. I am receiving a decent amount of money through my job as benefit time they owe me. I already received most of it and I have more coming. I want to use this money to build my own personal lab. The equipment I am thinking about purchasing is based on equipment Dave Jones has reviewed. The only questions I have right now are, how do most of you have your equipment arranged? I mean Dave has his stuff on shelves on the wall. How does everyone else have their stuff setup? I will be building a lab from the ground up so literally I am first going to build a pretty substantial work bench. I can build whatever the hell I want so I want to make sure im set on a design before building it. The work benches at the school are kind of nice. They are big, sturdy, and have second level which all the equipment is stacked up. I dont know if Im ok with stacking equipment like that?!?! I just want to know how everyone else has their gear. Also, I want to buy a used pc to dedicate to this work bench as well. At my school there is a pc on the bench off to the side and I like that. It might be a stupid question, but... laptop of desktop? I like laptop because it's all contained into one thing on the bench, but... I dont know. What do you all think? Any reason why I should go with a desktop over a laptop for the work bench? Thanks in advance.

Offline IanB

• Super Contributor
Re: Hello everyone!
« Reply #1 on: November 07, 2015, 04:07:27 am »
Have you watched any of the Signal Path blog videos by Shahriar (Hugoneous on the forum)?