EEVblog Electronics Community Forum

Electronics => Beginners => Topic started by: nyame on December 14, 2018, 02:04:48 am

Title: Hello, please can a corrupt firewall prevent an HMI from powering UP ?
Post by: nyame on December 14, 2018, 02:04:48 am
Hello, please can a corrupt firewall prevent an HMI from powering UP ?
Title: Re: Hello, please can a corrupt firewall prevent an HMI from powering UP ?
Post by: Kilrah on December 14, 2018, 02:12:55 am
Maybe?
Title: Re: Hello, please can a corrupt firewall prevent an HMI from powering UP ?
Post by: perieanuo on December 14, 2018, 04:08:02 am
Hi,what's an hmi?


Envoyé de mon iPad en utilisant Tapatalk
Title: Re: Hello, please can a corrupt firewall prevent an HMI from powering UP ?
Post by: dmills on December 14, 2018, 06:12:13 am
Possibly, if the thing is trying to do a network boot via something like TFTP or NFS or such from a server in whatever it is controlling (fairly commonplace), but I would normally expect these to be in the same network.
Still if you did something like misconfigure the firewall to cause an address collision I don't see why not.

Wireshark can be very much your friend for debugging this kind of thing.

Regards, Dan.
Title: Re: Hello, please can a corrupt firewall prevent an HMI from powering UP ?
Post by: Kilrah on December 14, 2018, 06:55:07 am
Hi,what's an hmi?
Human-Machine Interface. Industrial control panel.

But he gave zero info about what kind he has and his setup, so "maybe" is the best answer he can get.
Title: Re: Hello, please can a corrupt firewall prevent an HMI from powering UP ?
Post by: cdev on December 14, 2018, 09:00:10 am
Maybe it looks for a server somewhere on the net to verify a licensing status?

Title: Re: Hello, please can a corrupt firewall prevent an HMI from powering UP ?
Post by: nyame on December 14, 2018, 04:47:14 pm
The HMI is AB panelview plus 600, (touch screen)
Title: Re: Hello, please can a corrupt firewall prevent an HMI from powering UP ?
Post by: perieanuo on December 14, 2018, 07:07:23 pm
The HMI is AB panelview plus 600, (touch screen)
Hi,
I was looking, your device hasn't a firewall itself.So just disconnect the ethernet, restore power and that's your answer
imo, it's broken if after repowering from scratch without lan cable the device doesn't power up.
after, the job translates from IT to electronics :)
Title: Re: Hello, please can a corrupt firewall prevent an HMI from powering UP ?
Post by: perieanuo on December 14, 2018, 07:09:28 pm
Hi,what's an hmi?
Human-Machine Interface. Industrial control panel.

But he gave zero info about what kind he has and his setup, so "maybe" is the best answer he can get.
tks,
i'm old school, I refere to this thing as PLC or automate or whatever, i'll try to review my vocabulary, tks