Author Topic: Adding basic switching/transistors to a simple LED circuit  (Read 4818 times)

Offline barfdoggTopic starter

• Contributor
Adding basic switching/transistors to a simple LED circuit
« on: March 18, 2016, 07:43:40 pm »
Hi guys,

To preface:

I built a CNC router a few years ago and among several projects I’ve made some cool Plexiglas plaques and such. An example of something I have made is posted below. I created a base that accepts AAs, has a switch, and the appropriate resistors to power the LEDs. This is relevant because I plan to create a similar project, but have run into a snag (My lack of knowledge).

As for my electronics experience, I have dabbled in repair and modification in the past. (N64 RGB mod, replacing failed caps, etc.) However, I have no experience in "creating" something, or utilizing transistors and such, so I apologize in advance for my mediocre description skills.

My project idea comes from something I use at work. there are six of us in my office, and we have some equipment that we need to keep an eye on, so for us to track who has it, there is a laminated piece of paper that says “IN USE” on one side, and “NOT IN USE” on the other side. Below it is a white board. When you use the equipment, you flip the paper over and write your name on the board. This is just a simple way to let us all know the status. No big deal, but also not that fun.

I thought it would be fun to improve our process with a "modern" solution.

I plan on creating an etched Plexiglas sign that is edge lit by LEDs similar to the picture I posted below of an earlier project.

I will create a Plexiglas sign with LEDs as follows:

IN USE
NOT IN USE

NAME 1
NAME 2
NAME 3
NAME 4
NAME 5
NAME 6