Author Topic: Help Identifying a component.  (Read 4900 times)

Offline MenohacTopic starter

Help Identifying a component.
« on: December 06, 2013, 10:41:26 pm »
Hey guys, I have a hard drive that has stopped working, and I am trying to fix it. It seems to still be seen by the computer but it cannot be accessed, it doesn't make any sound, and I cannot "feel" it running either, so I am assuming it is the motor, motor controller that has failed or something going to it.

While probing around on the PCB of the drive I found what I _THINK_ is a SMD fuse, and I want to confirm this before I try to rip it off and find a replacement. I will attach a picture below also, but using my trusty old fluke, the continuity test does nothing, and it is reading over 1Mohm, and it kinda looks like an SMD fuse.

I must apologise, I am rather rubbish at SMD, I am still a through hole hobbyist, and I never learned much about SMD in my EE classes.

The component in question is the large white one with bG on it, marked as SK1.
« Last Edit: December 06, 2013, 10:43:21 pm by Menohac »

Offline Skimask

• Super Contributor
Re: Help Identifying a component.
« Reply #1 on: December 06, 2013, 10:46:20 pm »
Swap the leads.  Might be a diode.
I didn't take it apart.
I turned it on.

The only stupid question is, well, most of them...

Save a fuse...Blow an electrician.

Offline Fagear

• Regular Contributor
« Reply #2 on: December 06, 2013, 10:50:48 pm »
I think it is accelerometer (shock sensor). No need to touch it.

Check SMOOTH temperature after applying power. It is motor driver. If it gets hot - it is dead. If it not - it must try to rotate spindle and produce some sounds. If not - may be controller chip dead (also check temperature) or ROM corruption.
Also check for overvoltage protection diods near power connector - they may become short circuit if voltage was too high.
« Last Edit: December 06, 2013, 10:55:38 pm by Fagear »

« Reply #3 on: December 06, 2013, 11:06:41 pm »