Author Topic: Help me with some triac optoisolator questions (Vishay VO3023)  (Read 1061 times)

Offline dsegelTopic starter

• Contributor
Help me with some triac optoisolator questions (Vishay VO3023)
« on: February 07, 2018, 02:57:08 pm »
I have some of these (VO3023) and am wondering if and how I can use them in a specific project where I will be driving them with an Arduino Pro Mini using digitalWrite. I've never used optoisolators before.

Here's the datasheet: http://www.vishay.com/docs/84132/vo3020.pdf

Here are my questions:

1. Do I have to use a resistor on the input to the chip to protect the internal LED? It looks like the trigger current is listed as 5mA, so that would mean a 1K resistor for a 5V signal, right?

2. Most circuits I see using this kind of optoisolator drive an external triac. Why would I need that since this has one internally?

3. If I do use an external triac, what purpose do the resistors (56R and 100R) in a circuit like this perform: https://www.electronics-tutorials.ws/articles/opto6.gif

4. How much current can I pass through the internal triac? Is that the "RMS On State Current"?

5. Finally, probably the biggest question - I need to use it to turn a DC line on and off that may have it's polarity reversed (i.e. positive and negative are reversed sometimes). Is this OK with a triac, and how do I calculate the current when specs are written for RMS?

Thanks in advance to everybody.

Offline Benta

• Super Contributor
Re: Help me with some triac optoisolator questions (Vishay VO3023)
« Reply #1 on: February 07, 2018, 03:19:15 pm »
1: yes.
2: to increase power capability.
3: limit the gate current.
4: yes.
5: a triac optocoupler is not suited for DC. Once it's turned on it will not turn off until power is removed (or AC reverses polarity).

• Contributor
« Reply #2 on: February 07, 2018, 06:57:16 pm »