Author Topic: LTC1871 based boost converter - please check my layout  (Read 5917 times)

Offline newbie666Topic starter

• Regular Contributor
LTC1871 based boost converter - please check my layout
« on: December 29, 2013, 05:10:21 pm »
Hello,

I am a beginner as far as dc-dc converters go and I've decided to take up a boost converter project as a nice way to get going. I am trying to design a boost converter for small tube circuits. Here are the parameters:

Vin = 30-32V
Vout = 220V
Iout = 50mA
f = 300kHz

First thing I've done was to do some calculations as per datasheet. Then I've put the circuit together in LTSpice, imported IRF644 model as it seems suitable for switch for this application and it seems to work after some tweeking of L and Cout.

Here's the schematic:

And inductor current + output voltage waveforms:

Questions I have:
  • First of all what value of the SENSE resistor should I use? I just picked a value I saw on an example circuit but I'd like to be more aware of where it came from
  • What exactly is the function of Ith pin? I can see on the block schematic of the IC that it's voltage is compared to the sense input but I don't really understand why. Can anyone explain what's the deal with current mode regulation? How do I choose R and C at the Ith pin?
  • When the converter starts I can see the inductor current is in the range of 3-4A. When the output voltage get's to the desired value it drops to 0.2-0.6A so I thought about using 220uF/1A inductor. What's going to happen in the startup phase? Will it saturate? Does it mean that the converter will take longer to start or won't start at all?
  • What's up with that weird current peak between 4.8ms and 5.4ms? Output voltage seems to be in the desired range already, why does the inductor need to work so hard?

I know spice is not the same as the real thing but that's all I have at the moment. I'll be building this converter as soon as I get myself a scope.
Thanks a lot for your help!