Author Topic: Help Validating PCB Design  (Read 7543 times)

Offline microcompilerTopic starter

Help Validating PCB Design
« on: May 02, 2017, 01:08:14 am »
I’m new to PBC design and in general the hardware side of electronics is a hobby.  I’ve had a couple of collage classes in electronics and that’s it. I have much more experience on the software side of electronic devices. This is my first real PCB that I plan to have Seeed fabricate and assemble using Ublox’s new dead reckoning GPS unit.  To save on costs I would like to use as many components as I can from Seeed’s “OPL list”.

I’m asking for assistance validating my Raspberry HAT design.  This design is pushing my hardware knowledge to the limits but I really want to see a working version of this board running on Windows IoT core. It's now become a personal mission. Therefore, I’m reaching out to this form for help!

I have created this project using Altium Circuit Maker and it’s published under the project name Raspberry Pi GPS Dead Reckoning HAT.  I included several project screen shots below for review.  I think I’m getting close to a final design but not confident enough to send for fabrication. The down side to this project is the NEO-M8U modules are $40 a piece in small quantities.  Therefore I can’t afford screwing it up.  Any advice you are willing to provide would be great!

Here are the specific areas that I would like to get feedback around:
  • Am I using right capacitors and resistors values on the NEO-M8U, BNO005, ADS1115 chips?
  • Is the overall circuit design solid?
  • Power will be supplied in two ways.  From the Raspberry directly with the usb port or using this battery module.  What is the simplest/cleanest IC to prevent an issue if both power sources are connected at the same time? Both are clean power sources but I want to prevent smoking the device if power is connected both ways at the same time.