Author Topic: Solved - Help with 27Mhz R/C toy  (Read 7986 times)

Offline rodcastlerTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
Solved - Help with 27Mhz R/C toy
« on: March 01, 2015, 03:37:23 pm »
Hi! complete noob to radio transmission, trying to troubleshoot my 3yr old son's Go MINI Remote Controlled Wolf

Issue:
Everything works fine as long as the transmitter antenna and receiver antenna are 1 inch away.
At any further distance it all keeps working (even up to a few feet away which is good) however the behavior becomes intermittent. For example the motor -that should run steady- starts jumping at somehow 4 pulses/second which ends up being super-anoying. As soon as the antennas get really close together, it goes nice and smooth and very steady. This happens when the motor turns in either direction.

It came like that from factory. Too late to return it.

What have I tried:

1.- Check the antennas. Both are well soldered in place.
2.- Fresh batteries on both Rx & Tx (this should have been step#1 but you know what they say on the EEVblog....)
3.- Removed the wax from the variable inductance thingy and turned the ferrite while running the motor in order to find a sweet spot. This improved my range to 2 inches. The reason why I tried this is because since it came bad from factory, I thought this is the only human-error related step.
4.- Added a capacitor to the motor in the hopes of filtering noise coming from there. Also tried capacitors to an unpopulated cap on the board (they cut corners sometimes and who knows...)
5.-Tried a longer antenna.
6.-Tried different places in the house to avoid external interference.

None of these have helped.

Questions for you:

- What is the correct next step?
- Where should I be poking my scope at?