Author Topic: Help with circuit  (Read 9363 times)

Offline SEnergyTopic starter

• Contributor
Help with circuit
« on: June 29, 2015, 05:41:30 pm »
Hello,

I'm SEnergy and I'm pretty new to this forum AND electronics (second week), I've been programming for 8+ years and decided to upgrade my software skills by adding a little bit of hardware

I'm trying to use Relay with my raspberry pi, following tutorial I found on the internet (except I do not have transistor, gonna get that tomorrow) but I am not quite sure I connected this correctly (schemes are still kinda new to me)

scheme (only relay <-> raspberry part, not actual output of relay, and yes, I realize I've bought incorrect relay for this and that I'm using 330R instead of 1KR, this is just a "prototype" circuit till I get transistor):

EDIT: After looking at it for another half an hour I decided to rebuild it from scratch, the result:

« Last Edit: June 30, 2015, 07:48:15 pm by SEnergy »

Offline PICmonster

• Regular Contributor
Re: Help with circuit
« Reply #1 on: June 30, 2015, 02:16:56 pm »
You have a 6V relay on the breadboard that will be powered from 5V supply from the Pi, ideally this should be a 5V relay, however should work as there will be a voltage tolerance, the circuit diagram looks to be fine but I can not see enough detail of the breadboard to advise.

Also some relays are polarized so it is very important to make sure that the + &- connection are correct on polarized relays, you can test this by listening if the coil engages when you apply 5V to the relay coil, try +&- and then -&+ on the relay coil, if you can here it energizing each time it is non-polarized relay and you can connect it either way
around.

Sounds like your new to electronics and I would suspect electrical aspects also, I can not comment about the mains side of your application and advise not to do any work with mains voltages if you are inexperienced as it is very dangerous.

Offline picandmix

• Frequent Contributor