Author Topic: Help with custom fan please.  (Read 2481 times)

Offline ShadyKTopic starter

• Contributor
Help with custom fan please.
« on: November 28, 2013, 06:45:43 pm »
Hi every one. Thank you all for the help from my last few posts.

I am in the start up of creating a little desk fan for usage when i do little soldering jobs i no its not ideal but it gives me the practise i need thats all. And i can use it too. So here it goes. I plan to run it off battery as its not too advaced :) so would i just buy 2 fans (pc fans) with a 9v batery housing a switch and then som wire and connect them all together? Sorry im not arragant so if this ide seems its im just really new to it thats all :) thanks guys..

Offline SeanB

• Super Contributor
Re: Help with custom fan please.
« Reply #1 on: November 28, 2013, 06:51:03 pm »
It will work, but will eat batteries pretty fast. Do you not have an old wall wart or cellphone charger that you can use to get 5-12V to run the fans with? just cut the end off and strip a little of the outer back to get the red and black wires inside and connect the fans to them.

Offline senso

• Frequent Contributor
    • My AVR tutorials
« Reply #2 on: November 28, 2013, 06:57:17 pm »
I use a 120mm fan recycled from an Atx supply, at 5v, it just makes a nice breeze that takes all the fumes out of the way.

• Contributor
« Reply #3 on: November 28, 2013, 07:03:19 pm »
Yeah i have a charger and does it mater what side the red and black go to aslong as the black are with balck and red with red?  Also could a switch and LEDS be intergrated into it? I dont know what it is but at the minute im obsessed with putting leds in every thing. Thank you for ur quick reply.

Offline Six_Shooter

• Regular Contributor
« Reply #4 on: November 28, 2013, 09:02:01 pm »
It's normal to want to put LEDs in everything, I think we all go through that phase, or never get through it. LOL