Author Topic: Help with designing LM3404 LED driver in Eagle CAD  (Read 5825 times)

Offline aiq25Topic starter

• Regular Contributor
Help with designing LM3404 LED driver in Eagle CAD
« on: July 24, 2014, 12:31:53 am »
Hi. I'm trying to design an LED driver using the LM3404 IC. I have a basic schematic and PCB layout done but I need some helping finishing it. I'm new to LED drivers and doing PCB layout. I'm using Eagle CAD to do the PCB layout. Attached are all my files. For the inductor I'm planning on using a through hole component, since it will be easier to solder. The part I'm planning on using is LHL13TB101K. I created a library for this part and for the LM3404 IC. I'm not sure if the package is correct the way I have it. I took a through hole component and just change the spacing to create this. If someone could verify this I would really appreciate it. I'm planning on adding a SMD inductor, SDR1806-101KL. I haven't added this to the schematic. I think I'm just going to create some padding based on the PCB so I can try to solder this instead of creating a part for this and adding this to the schematic. Does this seem like a good idea?

Also, I looked at the application/demo board for this IC. On there they have some large traces connecting VIN, GND, LED+ and LED-. I was wondering how wide do I need to make these traces? Here are the specs of my application:
Vin: 39-40V
Vout: ~33V
Iout: 0.6A

I used the TI WEBENCH to create the schematic and get the values. I will be hand soldering this.

• Regular Contributor
Re: Help with designing LM3404 LED driver in Eagle CAD
« Reply #1 on: July 24, 2014, 12:47:06 am »
Here are the schematic and board layout so far:

Offline XFDDesign

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #2 on: July 24, 2014, 03:13:39 am »
There were a few bugs I found in the design. Namely:
1. For your through-hole foot print, you put a drilled hole on top of a through-hole pad.
2. Your bottom ground plane was not connected to your top ground plane.