Author Topic: Help with soldering smd chips  (Read 10177 times)

Offline spacedementia87Topic starter

• Contributor
Help with soldering smd chips
« on: November 02, 2016, 03:42:45 pm »
So I am relatively new to smd soldering but have been getting on reasonably well with sot-23 and some chips like the ATtiny 8.

My new project involved some chips with smaller pin distances and I have messed up.

Here is a picture of two attempts

As you can see I am just making solder bridges all over the place.

I have watched videos online that suggest "dragging" the solder. Tried that and it just balls up between 2 or 3 pins.

I have tried to wick away the excess solder and it just doesn't work. The solder doesn't go anywhere so I can't even get the ship off.

I have never had to use solder wick but I assumes it would remove solder! I tried solder sucking and it worked to some extent but still left loads of bridges.

This is really stressing me out now so I have had to walk away for now.

Sent from my ONE A2003 using Tapatalk

Offline suicidaleggroll

• Super Contributor
Re: Help with soldering smd chips
« Reply #1 on: November 02, 2016, 03:48:46 pm »
What iron and what solder are you using?  If it's a temperature controlled iron, what's the temperature set to?

• Contributor
« Reply #2 on: November 02, 2016, 03:57:31 pm »
What iron and what solder are you using?  If it's a temperature controlled iron, what's the temperature set to?
I don't know the brand of iron or solder.

They are generic. The solder is a rosin core On free solder though.

I have tried the iron between 250 and 450 °C.

I couldn't manage either way.

Offline suicidaleggroll

• Super Contributor
« Reply #3 on: November 02, 2016, 04:10:30 pm »