Author Topic: Help with university (Choosing course and path)  (Read 17456 times)

Offline XDroidie626Topic starter

• Contributor
Help with university (Choosing course and path)
« on: July 05, 2015, 01:39:40 pm »
Hello Community!! (First post so sorry if this is in the wrong section)
I am new to the field of electronics, I have experience with electronics (Mainly from computers) and I am thinking of taking my studies to university via an engineering degree.
I currently study Computer Sciences at the Open Uni, I thought it would help to get a job with hardware design and other development but it turns out Engineering is the best way, I am only in my first subject so I am not loosing out on much.
Okay so when I asked the university about the courses, I said I have an interest in both mechanics and electrical (Electrical most, I find mechanics intresting in terms of cars mostly, although I find engines interesting all together) and that I wished to follow the electrical field.
Now while I wanted to originally do hardware design to apply to computers, I recently started to play with my own electronics, only simple circuits and stuff (Followed some information from Dummies) and I found that I ideally would like to repair/build electronic systems, I wouldn't mind been able to apply my passion for cars and electronics together but one step at a time.
So I was offered the option of these two courses.
http://www.open.ac.uk/courses/qualifications/q65 <- Standard Beng.
http://www.open.ac.uk/courses/qualifications/m04 <- Beng + Masters included.
If I can I will go for the included masters, they suggested I try their quiz and see what level I am at.
but my problem is, the routes they provide to not clearly explain what you may do and what is best for your career wants, as said I wish to repair and build systems.