Author Topic: Homebrew soldering iron.  (Read 7664 times)

Offline joeqsmith

• Super Contributor
Re: Homebrew soldering iron.
« Reply #25 on: January 20, 2019, 04:53:46 am »
Is this a "because you can" type of thing? Because I can't think of another reason to build a soldering iron from scratch. There's no way it will work as well as even a basic off the shelf soldering station. Regarding tip life, I recently replaced the tip on my Edsyn iron which I had been using for at least 15 years with the same tip. Properly cared for, the tip on a temperature controlled iron should last a very long time.

That's a good question.  There are several videos on YT showing such homemade irons and other similar devices.   If you can afford a computer and software to edit a video, a camera to record it and have access to the internet to post it, you can't be too bad off.    Personally, I am doing it because OP had asked and I've never been much of a bench racer or armchair quarterback.   

It will take YT a while to get the higher resolutions sorted out.  Here is the iron running closed loop with Labview.  Better but I'm not giving up my old Pace any time soon.

https://youtu.be/Xa2TQ583OIU

Offline cdev

• Super Contributor
  • !
« Reply #26 on: January 20, 2019, 05:30:00 am »
Be careful with fibers. Any kind of long thin fiber is bad for your health if its inhaled because the lungs can't clear it.
« Last Edit: January 20, 2019, 05:32:44 am by cdev »
"What the large print giveth, the small print taketh away."

Offline rsjsouza

• Super Contributor
  • Eternally curious
    • Vbe - vídeo blog eletrônico
« Reply #27 on: January 20, 2019, 12:02:47 pm »
For the gun type variant... Several folks made this using a transformer and a secondary wrapped around it. Unfortunately my google-fu is lacking and I could only find very detailed videos but only in portuguese.
Vbe - vídeo blog eletrônico http://videos.vbeletronico.com