Author Topic: Motor Starting Switch  (Read 1836 times)

Offline RyanGTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
Motor Starting Switch
« on: March 27, 2017, 09:10:58 pm »
I know what this circuit does but I don't really understand how the bottom half of the board works. I'm not very good at understanding the AC input stuff on this type of board. It replaces the old centrifugal switches used in the motors at work. Can anyone explain how it works? I have a general idea about the rectifying and the optotriac, but how does it turn the opto on and off? And, is there an easier way to do the same thing?
« Last Edit: March 27, 2017, 10:14:29 pm by RyanG »

Offline danadak

• Super Contributor
  • Reactor Operator SSN-583, Retired EE
Re: Motor Starting Switch
« Reply #1 on: March 27, 2017, 10:24:21 pm »
The emitter is constrained to 12V. So when the ac line rises above 12 + Vq1vbe + Vd5 ~=
12 + .7 + .7 =~ 13.4V then current starts to flow thru OpTo LED side.

Regards, Dana.
Love Cypress PSOC, ATTiny, Bit Slice, OpAmps, Oscilloscopes, and Analog Gurus like Pease, Miller, Widlar, Dobkin, obsessed with being an engineer

Offline Benta

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: March 27, 2017, 10:30:08 pm »
Is the circuit reverse engineered and the schematic built from there?

Not so important, but it is very messy to look at.
To help yourself, I'd suggest straightening out a lot of the connections, and perhaps suddenly the circuit will make sense.

Not directly helpful, I know, but tidy schematics save a lot of headaches.

It seems to be running off 240 VAC, if I understand the labelling correctly.

Offline apelly

• Supporter
  • Probe
« Reply #3 on: March 27, 2017, 10:49:19 pm »
I'd guess is it's a zero crossing detector

Offline Paul Price

• Super Contributor
« Reply #4 on: March 27, 2017, 11:11:53 pm »
Not so fast, danadsk and apelly!